Cosmology is one of five primary topics addressed in ancient Sanskrit histories known as Puranas. This includes (1) universal creation by the Superconsciousness, and (2) subsequent creation by Superhuman beings.

If you’re tempted to write off the Puranas as mere mythology, you should first consider the following:

  1. The Puranic date for the “Big Bang” — the generation of this universe by the Superconsciousness — is 13.819 billion years ago. The current estimate within the scientific community is 13.801 billion years ago.
  2. The Puranic date for the formation of our solar system is 4.563 billion years ago. The current estimate within the scientific community is 4.567 billion years ago.
  3. The Puranic date for Earth’s most recent mass extinction is 251.152 million years ago. The current estimate within the scientific community is 251.9 million years ago.

In addition, the Puranas accurately describe many, many other scientific phenomena that have only recently been understood in contemporary scientific circles, such as:

  • The sun’s future evolution into a Red Giant, and its ultimate explosion into planetary nebulae
  • The various stages of fetal development of a human infant in the womb
  • The first appearance of life on Earth
  • The cyclic nature of the Universe
  • The time period for the initial formation of stars within the Universe

Billions of dollars and trillions of hours went into these scientific discoveries, each of which was viewed as ground-breaking in its time. But all of this information has been known to the sages of ancient India since many millenia, long before the technological advancements took place which enabled contemporary scientists to achieve these discoveries through arduous research and experimentation. All this and more can be found in our newly released book: Heretic Science.

How is it even possible?

Life On Other Planets

The Puranas describe a universe teeming with life. In the Bhagavad-gītā it is said that living beings are sarva-gataḥ — they are everywhere. As consciousness, not matter, is the fundamental building block of all existence, it makes sense that conscious life would be found all over the universe.

On this planet earth, lifeforms have been found in even the most extreme of conditions:

  • In the desert. The Velvet mesquite is a shrub native to Arizona’s sonoran desert, where the annual rainfall is as low as 3 in. per year. It survives by shooting its roots more than 160 ft. under ground. Another desert plant, the creosote bush, survives by cloning itself. One bush in California’s Mojave desert is estimated to be 11,700 years old.
  • Miles under the ocean. The nightmarish fangtooth is a deep-sea aquatic whose habitat is around 6,500 ft. beneath the ocean’s surface, where temperatures are below -32° F and the water pressure is 3,000+ psi.
  • In the stratosphere. Rüppell’s griffon vulture is the highest flying bird on modern record, with a top flight of 37,000 ft. They can spot carrion on land from thousands of feet in the air.

The Puranas describe our universe as consisting of three major planes, which are divided further into fourteen subdivisions. Each region of the universe is inhabited by different types of living organisms that possess a body suitable for their environment.

The Puranas were compiled by residents of the upper realms within our universe, who inhabit a multi-dimensional existence much more rarefied and technologically sophisticated than our planet earth.

The Vedic Universe

Taking the plane of the ecliptic and extending it to the edge of our solar system, the Puranas describe that our Earth planet sits in the middle of these fourteen sub-planes, with six higher realms and seven realms below.

In the famous TV series Cosmos, astronomer Carl Sagan admits that the Vedas of India are the only ancient text “in which the time scales correspond to those of modern scientific cosmology.” In addition, the well-known Harvard professor Alan Watts applauded the Vedic worldview for its advanced concepts in physics and space-time:

To the philosophers of India, however, Relativity is no new discovery, just as the concept of light years is no matter for astonishment to people used to thinking of time in millions of kalpas.”